State
Elections
Preview and
Legislative
Outlook

Edwards Westerhold Moore

Nebraska 2024 State Electoral Issues

- 25 of 49 seats in Nebraska's (officially) non-partisan Legislature are up for election. Fifteen (15) legislative seats are open due to term limits or incumbents not seeking re-election.
- Republicans currently hold 33 seats in the 108th Nebraska Legislature.
- Five ballot initiatives and one referendum will appear on statewide ballots.
- No constitutional offices elected this cycle.

SENATOR RAY AQUILAR

(FORMER) SENATOR DAN QUICK





SENATOR JEN DAY

BOB ANDERSEN





SENATOR ROB DOVER

JENNE REIGLE





FELIX UNGERMAN

VICTOR ROUNDTREE





2024 Ballot Initiatives

• Initiatives 434 and 439 are proposed constitutional amendments dealing with abortion. Initiative 434 proposes a constitutional 12 week ban (current law). Initiative 439 proposes a constitutional right to abortion until fetal viability.

• Initiative 436 enacts a statute providing for paid sick leave for Nebraska employees.

• Initiatives 437 and 438 are statutory proposals creating access to medical marijuana for Nebraska patients. Legal challenges to these two initiatives are pending.

2024 Ballot Referendum

Referendum Measure 435 proposes to repeal LB1402 (2024), a legislative bill directing \$10 Million annually for financial aid to eligible students attending private and parochial K-12 schools in Nebraska (a/k/a Opportunity Scholarships)

Previewing the 109th Nebraska Legislature

Current Legislative Leadership

Speaker of the Legislature – Senator John Arch

Chair of the Executive Board - Senator Ray Aquilar

Appropriations Committee Chair – Senator Rob Clements

Revenue Committee Chair - Senator Lou Ann Linehan

Judiciary Committee Chair - Senator Justin Wayne

Government Committee Chair – Senator Tom Brewer

Health and Human Services Committee Chair – Senator Ben Hansen

Natural Resources Committee Chair – Senator Bruce Bostelman

Current Legislative Leadership (cont'd)

Banking Committee Chair – Senator Julie Slama

Agriculture Committee Chair – Senator Steve Halloran

General Affairs Committee Chair – Senator John Lowe

Education Committee Chair – Senator Dave Murman

Business and Labor Committee Chair - Senator Merv Riepe

Transportation Committee Chair – Senator Mike Moser

Urban Affairs Committee Chair – Senator Terrell McKinney

Retirement Committee Chair – Senator Mike McDonnell

Current Legislative Caucus Rosters

District 1 – Clements (2), Blood (3), Walz (15), Hansen (16), Dover (19), Ballard (21), Moser (22), Bostelman (23), Hughes (24), Bosn (25), Dungan (26), Wishart (27), Raybould (28), Bostar (29), Sanders (45), Conrad (46)

District 2 – Von Gillern (4), McDonnell (5), M. Cavanaugh (6), Vargas (7), Hunt (8), J. Cavanaugh (9), Deboer (10), McKinney (11), Riepe (12), Wayne (13), Arch (14), Armendariz (18), Fredrickson (20), Kauth (31), Holdcroft (36), Linehan (39), Day (49)

District 3 – Slama (1), Albrecht (17), Dorn (30), Brandt (32), Halloran (33), Lippencott (34), Aguilar (35), Lowe (37), Murman (38), De Kay (40), Meyer (41), Jacobsen (42), Brewer (43), Ibach (44), Erdman (47), Hardin (48)

2025 Legislative Issues

• State Budget – Is the party over or just winding down?

• LB 34 (First Special Session) Gap Year of Property Tax Relief

• Property Tax Relief-Pillen Plan Version 2.0?